University of Colombo, Sri Lanka  
User Name:     
About University

About Us
University of Colombo
Faculty of Science
94, Cumaratunga Munidasa Mawatha,
Colombo - 3.
Sri Lanka.
Phone: (9411) 2583105, (9411) 2583106, (9411) 2583107

Faculty of Science History:

The Faculty of Science established in 1942, is the oldest of the Science Faculties in the University system in Sri Lanka. It occupies the buildings used by the Colombo university College since 1921 and the University of Ceylon since its inception in 1942 with of course many more new additions.

The Faculty consists of seven Departments of study - Chemistry, Mathematics, Nuclear Science, Physics, Plant Sciences, Statistics and Zoology, and conducts courses leading to the B.Sc. general degree (03 years duration) and B.Sc. special degree (04 years duration). A comprehensive range of subject combinations are available for the general degree while special degree programs are available in several subject areas. The Faculty together with the School of Computing of the University also offers several joint special degree programs.

The Faculty of Science conducts several postgraduate programs leading to the Master of Science degree and postgraduate diplomas. The Faculty also plays a very active role in research and there are many research students reading for Ph.D. and M.Phil degrees. Through the research programs the Faculty and the Departments have established strong links with both Sri Lankan and foreign research organizations. The members of the Faculty also play a prominent role in national development. Several members act as resource persons, consultants and board members in many government and non-government organizations.

The infrastructure of the Faculty developed greatly in the recent past, based on a well established development program. The program has resulted in new multi-storied buildings for the Departments of Chemistry, Physics, Plant Sciences and Zoology. The Department of Statistics shares a building with the University of Colombo School of Computing while Mathematics occupies the building annexed to the tower. The development plan also includes new buildings for Zoology, Mathematics and Statistics, extension to Plant Sciences, new Science Library Complex and the Canteen Complex.

Apart from the high reputation of the Faculty and the University the students also have many other advantages - the lively metropolitan location, wide variety of campus clubs and societies and good facilities for sports. Further, the Faculty provides a learning environment devoid of unrest and violence and for the past several years all study programs were concluded within the stipulated time period of 3 or 4 years. The latest published data indicate that the Colombo science graduates are in very high demand among the employers. Hence, the Faculty of Science at Colombo occupies, without doubt, a pivotal position among the Science Faculties in Sri Lankan Universities.

The six subject combinations and the codes are follows.

Applied Mathematics, Physics, Statistics & Computer Science -(C,M)'

Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics, Physics - (C,S)'

Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics, Chemistry - (P,S)'

Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science - (C,P)'

Applied Mathematics, Chemistry, Statistics & Computer Science - (P,M)'

Applied Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry - (M,S)'

All basic courses of the three subjects selected in the first and second year, are compulsory. Basic courses are given as subject units. Each subject unit comprises of 45 hours of lecturers and 150 hours of laboratory work per year, except for Mathematics where there would be around 120 hours of teaching and assignments, and for Statistics and Computer Science where there would be 120 hours of lectures and 120 of practical assignments. Each subject unit has three components/papers.

A Special Degree Programme in Computer Science was launched in 1991 and in Pharmacy in 2000 for the first time in Sri Lanka. Subsequently Engineering Physics and Business Mathematics Programmes were introduced.

The Physics Department has a collaborative research cum staff training link with the University of Uppsala, Sweden. The Departments of statistics and Computer Science have a collaborative link with the University of Wales, Cardiff under an UNDP project.

The faculty welcomes collaborative research projects with other Universities, Research Institutes and the Private sector ,both local and foreign .It under takes Consultancy Work and promotes University-Industry interaction.

Academic Departments of Faculty of Science

Department of Statistics

Department of Mathematics

Department of Nuclear Science

Department of Physics

Department of Plant Science

Department of Chemistry

Department of Zoology

Dean Professor T.R. Ariyaratne B.Sc. (Colombo), Ph.D. (Durham)

Heads of Departments:

Statistics: Dr. W.N. Wickremasinghe

Mathematics: Dr. R.T. Samaratunga

Nuclear Science: Dr. S. Kulatunga

Physics: Professor J.K.D.S. Jayanetti

Plant Science: Dr. T.D. Silva

Chemistry: Professor M.D.P. De Costa

Zoology: Professor W.S. Premawansa

© 2002-2018 UOC Tamil. All Rights Reserved. Facebook